You need to create a separate Geenio account for every learner so that you can assign courses to them and to track their progress. In addition, you may need to create accounts for staff members who will assist you in managing the platform, and also for course authors who will be creating the courses. However, you need to make sure that users you create have access to specific areas of Geenio (for example, you want learners to be able to take tests and see their statistics, but not to alter courses or to create additional user accounts). In Geenio, this is achieved with the help of roles.

Every role comes with a list of predefined privileges. Privileges determine what Geenio functionality is available to users sharing a particular role. Here are the three pre-configured roles you can assign to a Geenio user:

  • Administrator. Geenio administrators have full access to all functionality the platform offers. They can add or remove users and groups, create and edit courses, change Geenio settings, and more.

  • Manager. Managers have access to most of the functionality available to administrators, with a few exceptions - for example, they are unable to edit user accounts of administrators and other managers.

  • Learner. Learner accounts have the least number of privileges of all. Learners have the ability to edit their personal information, and also to take courses that have been assigned to them by a manager or an administrator.

If your license type allows it, you can also create custom user roles, mixing and matching the various privileges to fine-tune the degree of access a specific user or a group of users will have to the different Geenio features. Creating custom user roles is explained further in this article.

The user role is set at the time of the corresponding user account creation, and can also be changed at a later time.

To set the user role during the user account creation, select the desired role from the Role drop down menu.

To change the user role of an existing user, log in to Geenio, open the Team tab, click the name of the user whose user role you want to change, click Edit, select the desired role from the drop down menu in the upper right corner of the screen, then click Save.

Custom user roles

If your license type is Business or Enterprise, you have the ability to edit the default user roles, and also create and manage custom ones.

To see the list of currently configured user roles, log in to Geenio, open the Settings tab, and click Role Management.

Every user role except for the Administrator role can be edited or removed. A user role cannot be removed as long as there is at least one user who is assigned that role. In addition, every user role can be copied to quickly create a different user role based on it.

To edit a user role, hover your mouse pointer over it and click. You will be presented with the list of privileges you can grant to the user role, or revoke from it. To grant a privilege, select the corresponding checkbox, or clear it to revoke the privilege. To learn more about a specific privilege, hover your mouse pointer over thesymbol next to it. Note that some privileges can only be granted if a different privilege has already been granted (for example, you cannot grant the Assign courses to users privilege without granting View users first).

Once you are satisfied with the privileges assigned to the role, click Save.

To copy a user role, hover your mouse pointer over it and click theicon. You will be given the opportunity to adjust the privileges for the role being created, and set a different name for it. Once you are satisfied with the privileges assigned to the role, click Save.

To remove a user role, hover your mouse pointer over it, click theicon, and confirm the removal.

To create a new user role, click Add New Role. Set the name for the new role, and edit the privileges as described above. Once you are satisfied with the privileges assigned to the role, click Save.

Sharing courses

Different Geenio users have various levels of access to courses depending on their user roles. By default, Administrators and Managers can create courses, and also see and edit all courses that they created, but cannot see or edit courses created by other managers or administrators.

To facilitate collaboration, administrators and managers can share access to courses with other administrators and managers (but not with learners). Once a course has been shared with a user, that user can see the course and can perform all operations available to the course creator (i.e. edit the course, publish or delete it).

To share a course, log in to Geenio, open the Courses tab, click the name of the course you want to share, click Collaborators, click Share, select one or more users from the list, and click Share.

To stop sharing a course, log in to Geenio, open the Courses tab, click the name of the course you want to stop sharing, click Collaborators, and click Unshare next to the name of users with whom you no longer want to share the course. You can also click Delete All to stop sharing the course with anyone.

Once a course has been shared with a user, that user will be able to share it further. However, they will not be able to stop sharing the course with the users the course creator chose to share it with.

 


 

We recommend to read next articles